top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSuzette Palo

IKIGAI-FINDING YOUR LIFE PURPOSE

I'm a goal-oriented person and one of my plans is to get a college diploma and take the path of my profession. I know certainly what I'm supposed to be and what exactly to do.


But one day I woke -up, the world is in chaos, everything is in halt, and my step by step plans to reach my dreams went shattered. The situation seriously affected me to the extent that every night I'm overthinking. A lot of changes happen and together with that my perception in life, changed.


I realized, the profession that I take will not clearly define who I am, and I wanted really to be. Yes, I'm happy. But not genuinely. I can't see myself entirely commit to the path that I'm supposed to bound in. I can be more than that and do more than that. The title is just one of my goals, my purpose is not entirely about it. And I firmly believe that finding your life purpose is the key to genuine happiness.


I discover this Japanese formula "the ikigai" while browsing the net. Ikigai is a practice to find your inner self that means IKI-Life and Gai-Worth. And in everyday living, It's the core reason to wake-up and be motivated.


To find your life worth, you have to ask yourself these four basic questions but hard to internalize and answer.


-What are the things I love doing?


-What are the things I'm good at?


-Does the world need it?


-Can I be rewarded from it?


When answering this find a solemn place and be sure that in the entire process you deeply and carefully connect to your inner-self.








 



The table will help you to simplify and narrow down your answers. The foundation of this table is in column number 1, we will always after the things that you love. Just jot down the things that you love and after that, mark and cross out the following table. The table below is a hypothetical example to understand better.


I love watching tv, doing art, singing, and writing. But am I good at watching tv? Of course, how about doing arts?, I'll shamelessly claim it. Singing unfortunately not. Writing? I wish I was. Next, does the world need it? Of course. And last can I be rewarded from it?







66 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page